The God Awful Small Affairs “Teenage Love Song”

The God Awful Small Affairs have released their second single of 2019, “Teenage Love Song”. This is the rock trio of Missy Preston, Bryan Ramirez, and Mark Muniz. They have almost a classic sound pulling in elements of ’90’s Alt Rock with ’60’s bubble pop. It may just be our ears, but we are hearing echoes of the ’90’s Twee Pop band Frente threaded through both singles.

You can catch The God Awful Small Affairs at Empty Bottle on June 2nd with Lili, Lettering, and Bernie & The Wolf.



Pocketed recently released a self-titled debut full-length album through Worry Records. This is superb DIY Garage Rock from the quartet of Julian, Lizz, Hersh, and Jake.


Korean Jeans “No Trust"

Experimental duo Korean Jeans released a new album, No Trust, last week. This is tortured tuba sounds of Beth McDonald and the drums, guitars, etc of Neal Markowski.

You can catch Korean Jeans on June 8th a Workshop 4200 as part of PRF BBQ 2019. The duo will also be doing a small tour around Lake Michigan August 8th to the 11th with Petrillo.


CoryaYo “Orange Juice"

Beat Maker CoryaYo has released a new album called Orange Juice. This a breezy collection of juicy downtempo beats and ideas that feel complete on their own and ready for summer.

CoryaYo is also in a duo with local emcee Fooch the MC called Strangers Of Necessity.


V.V. Lightbody “Baby, Honestly”

V.V. Lightbody (aka Vivian McConnell of Santah and Grandkids) has released a new single called “Baby, Honestly”. This is the first new music from Vivian since her 2018 debut album Bathing Peach. This is track would fit perfectly on her last LP and further explores the genre she defines as Nap-Rock.

You can catch V.V. Lightbody (as Valebol with Daniel Villarreal) at Empty Bottle on June 21st with Bunny, Girl K, and Divino Niño.