Uglybones “Sunshine"

Punk bank Uglybones released their sophomore record, Sunshine, today, August 15th, via Don’t Panic Records. The album focuses on a single day in someone’s life and the array of emotions and activities that may take place.

You can help the band celebrate the release on August 17th at Galaxie 2.0 (4437 N. Ravenswood) and on Sept. 8th at Cobra Lounge.


New Senses Tour Europe

New Senses released their debut double EP, “The Future of Anything/Not Meant to Last”, back in May. Their music is invented resting somewhere between Psych Rock and Post Rock. The four piece group consists of Rob Piotrowski, Harish Vijayaganesh, J Akio Pinkl-Honda, and Nick Zbasnik.

They recently put together an ambitious European tour that will take them to Poland, Germany, and Czechia.


13 Angels

Earlier this month Psychobilly band 13 Angels released their latest EP, “Canaries In The Coal Mine”. This is the work of Shannon James Jahnke, Sean Luke, Chris Wolf, and F. Charles Urbaytis, and the band’s first release since 2016’s EP “Tiny Sinful Asides”.


The Fox & The Hounds "House of Leaves"

The Fox & The Hounds have released a new single called “House of Leaves”. This is the band’s first released since their 2015 EP, “Peachy Keen”. Below is the Katharin Mraz directed video for the single.

This is Kendel Lester fronted burlesque rock band that includes Katie Renshaw (Vocals, Keyboard), Kate Brassel (Vocals), Jared Leppert (Guitar), Jody Miller (Bass), Tony Panico (Drums), and Mike Sviokla (Guitar).



Matchess "The Mystic Ship by Antonin Artaud"

Matchess has a new track, “The Mystic Ship by Antonin Artaud" on the recently released Lillerne Tapes #100 compilation. Matches is the experimental synth pop of Whitney Johnson, and her latest album, Sacracorpa, was released on July 27th via Trouble In Mind.

Lillerne Tapes released this cassette, their 100th, last week and the compilation features bands and musicians that have helped shaped the local label over the last ten years. This includes contributions from Brett Naucke, Forest Management, Opheliaxz and many more.

Matchess will be participating in the improvised musical round robin event along with Makaya McCraven, Ben Lamar-Gay, Jeff Parker, Circuit Des Yuiz, and more at Thalia Hall on August 30th.

Photo by Maria Tzeka